Spencer Davis Group

  • Real Name: Spencer Davis
  • Birth Date: 17th July 1942
  • Birth Place: Swansea
  • Steve Winwood
  • 12th May 1948
  • Birmingham
  • Real Name: Mervyn Winwood (Muff)
  • Birth Date: 15th June 1943
  • Birth Place: Birmingham
  • Pete York
  • 15th August 1942
  • Middlesbrough
  • This talented outfit was put together in Birmingham by Davis although the group was dominated musically by the amazing and very young Steve Winwood. The group preferred to play blues, but their first single in this genre didn't do well and is now quite collectable. Their next three bluesy singles did reach the lower part of the chart but it was the much more commercial 'Keep On Running' that allowed them to hit the big time.
    The EP illustrated here is the first of their two hits on that format. It sold quite well and isn't really that difficult to find. Nevertheless, the popularity of the group makes it quite a sought after item and it commands quite a high price.


    This began a string of successful singles that went on until 1968, by which time Steve Winwood had left to form 'Traffic'. Although Davis soldiered on, and continued to turn out good music the hits soon dried up. Davis went to live in the USA, but continued performing musically. Muff went into A&R and his remarkable younger brother has maintained a low key but lucrative musical career ever since.

    1950s & 1960s 45rpm UK Discography

    • Listings include UK 45 singles releases only
    • Collector's Items are shown In Red

    Fontana TF471 1964 Dimples/ Sittin' And Thinkin'  
    Fontana TF499 1964 I Can't Stand It/ Midnight Train #47
    Fontana TF530 1965 Every Little Bit Hurts/ It Hurts Me So #41
    Fontana TF571 1965 Strong Love/ This Hammer #44
    Fontana TF632 1965 Keep On Running/ High Time Baby #1
    Fontana TF679 1966 Somebody Help Me/ Stevie's Blues #1
    Fontana TF739 1966 When I Come Home/ Trampoline #12
    Fontana TF762 1966 Gimme Some Loving/ Blues In F #2
    Fontana TF785 1967 I'm A Man/ I Can't Get Enough Of It #9
    Fontana TF854 1967 Time Seller/ Don't Want You No More #30
    United Artists UP1203 1967 Mr. Second Class/ Sanity Inspector #35
    United Artists UP2213 1968 After Tea/ Moonshine  
    United Artists UP2226 1968 Short Change/ Picture Of Heaven  

    1950s & 1960s EP UK Discography

    • Listings include UK EP singles releases only
    • Collector's Items are shown In Red
    • For Singles releases, see upper list

    Fontana TE17444 1965 "You Put The Hurt On Me" #4
    You Put The Hurt On Me/I'm Getting Better/I'll Drown In My Own Tears/Goodbye Stevie
    Fontana TE17450 1966 "Every Little Bit Hurts"  
    Every Little Bit Hurts/It Hurts Me So/I Can't Stand It/Midnight Train
    Fontana TE17463 1966 "Sittin' And Thinkin'" #3
    Sittin And Thinkin/Dimples/Searchin/Jump back

    Return to UK Artists Biography Index